A 100-Night Trial Can Leave You 70 Nights
The ad says 100 nights.
The fine print says you can't return it for the first 30.
That leaves about 70.
And then there's the fee. Here's how some of the big sellers compare, from their own policy pages:
| Seller | Trial | Minimum before a return | Fees and conditions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Purple | 100 days from delivery | 21 days | Refund less transportation, capped at standard freight. Clean, undamaged, tag attached, with photos |
| Tempur-Pedic | 90 nights | 30 nights | Refund minus the return shipping fee. Reviewed and Mattress Nerd say $175. Closeouts excluded |
| Saatva | 365 nights, per its page | Not stated | $99 return fee. The exchange replacement is final sale |
| Casper | 100 nights | Not stated | Free UPS shipping |
| Nectar | 365 nights | Not verified | Free shipping and returns, per its homepage |
| Sleep Number | 100 nights | 30 nights | A $250 pickup fee for some delivery tiers, per a terms excerpt. Exchanged products are final sale |
| Mattress Firm | 120 nights | 30 recommended | One exchange, then a refund. Fees conflict across sources |
| IKEA | 90 days | None | One exchange only. Not a refund |
| Amazon | 30 days | None | Opened mattresses refunded but not collected. Not a true sleep trial |
That Mattress Firm row needs a note. Third-party guides list the return fee as $99, $99.99, $149, or 10 percent up to $250. Mattress Firm's own newsroom FAQ doesn't give a fee. Get it in writing.
Here's how that can go. ABC15 in Arizona reported on a buyer of a $6,500 to $7,000 Mattress Firm mattress. He was offered an exchange and got a torn replacement. Then he was told he was outside the policy. The receipt front said no refunds or exchanges. The back listed a 120-night trial.
He got his money back after the station got involved. Minus a $99 return fee. Mattress Firm told ABC15 the trial allows customers to exchange their mattress within 120 nights.
Two more traps hide in trial terms:
- Many online mattresses must be unboxed within a set period, such as 90 days, or the policy can be void.
- Third-party sellers on Amazon can have different return terms than Amazon itself.
A 100-night trial with a 30-night minimum is a 70-night trial.
Ask for these in writing:
- The number of nights
- The minimum before a return
- The fee
- Who arranges pickup
- Whether you need a donation receipt
What a Queen Costs and What It Buys
These are Sleep Foundation's published queen-size averages, updated July 15, 2025:
| Tier | Published range | Average queen | What it tends to buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| Budget | $250 to $1,000 | $600 | Mostly all-foam or basic coil |
| Mid-range | $500 to $1,500 | $1,000 | Hybrids and thicker foam. Where most bed-in-a-box brands sit |
| Luxury | $1,200 to $3,000 and up | $1,800 | Latex, premium hybrids, thicker builds |
By type, the average queen is about $1,050 for innerspring, $1,050 for all-foam, $2,000 for latex and $2,050 for hybrid.
Price doesn't buy durability by itself. Sleep Foundation says so directly. And one of the recalled beds in this guide sold for $1,200 to $2,500.
Some October 2026 price checks:
- IKEA queens: foam from $249, pocket spring $399 to $598, hybrid $649. A 10-year limited warranty and a 90-day trade-in.
- Purple queens: $1,299 to $7,999.
- Zinus: $499 for a 10-inch foam to $799 for a 12-inch hybrid, size not stated.
Then what comes with it:
| Cost | Range |
|---|---|
| Box spring | $70 to $500 |
| Slatted foundation | $100 to $300 |
| Metal platform base | $70 to $250 |
| Platform bed | $200 to $2,500 and up |
| Adjustable frame | $1,000 to $2,500 |
| Adjustable base (queen) | About $600 to $3,000. Best value $1,000 to $1,500 |
| Delivery at IKEA | $19 to $69, more in CT, MA, NJ, RI and NY |
| Old-mattress removal at IKEA | $30 in store with delivery. Free in CA and CT |
Costco lists delivery, setup and haul-away as included on select online mattresses in most areas. Saatva shows free delivery and setup. Casper ships free by UPS and charges for in-home delivery.
In California, retailers must offer take-back at no additional cost. A recycling fee is collected at purchase in CA, CT, RI and OR. We couldn't verify the amount.
How long will it last? Sleep Foundation's table:
| Type | Expected life |
|---|---|
| Innerspring | 5.5 to 6.5 years |
| Foam | 6 to 7 years |
| Hybrid | 6.5 to 7.5 years |
| Latex | 7.5 to 8.5 years |
That's about 2,000 to 3,100 nights. The page cites no study, so treat it as a publisher estimate.
The Was Price: Two Settlements and One Federal Rule
Mattress prices are famous for strikethroughs.
Two big settlements suggest why.
| Case | What was alleged | Settlement |
|---|---|---|
| Hampton v. Mattress Firm (San Diego Superior Court) | Deceptive website discounts, for purchases from August 1, 2020 to July 16, 2024 | $5.48 million. Claimants got $40 per mattress, up to four |
| Grossman v. Night US and Brooklyn Bedding | Deceptive discounts on Leesa, Brooklyn Bedding, Helix and Bear sites | $8.16 million. $110 per qualifying order or a $110 voucher. Claim deadline was September 25, 2026 |
Neither company admitted wrongdoing in the sources we read.
A third complaint is still pending. A suit filed March 25, 2025 against Eight Sleep alleges crossed-out prices that weren't charged in the prior 90 days. That's an allegation.
Here's the rule. Under the FTC's pricing guide, a former price has to be an actual, bona fide price offered on a regular basis for a reasonably substantial period of time. California has its own rule. Law firms summarize it as barring a former-price claim unless it was the prevailing price within three months. We couldn't read the statute.
Now look at what we saw on October 19, 2026:
- Saatva's Classic page showed $2,229 next to $1,904 with Save $325, under a Weekend Flash Sale banner that said SALE ENDS TODAY. It was a Monday. The page didn't say which size the prices applied to.
- Casper showed from prices next to comparable values: $699 against $874 for foams, $1,215 against $1,620 for hybrids, and $2,040 against $2,720 for Maxes.
No seller published a price history, so none of those gaps proves a real former price.
Check the day of the week before you believe the banner.
So take a screenshot of the price today. Check it again in two weeks. If the was price never shows up as a non-sale price, that's your answer.
Warranties: How Deep a Sag Has to Be
A sag has to be deeper than the seller's line before the warranty pays.
| Seller | Sag threshold | Warranty |
|---|---|---|
| Tempur-Pedic | More than 0.75 inch, measured with no weight on the bed | 10 years |
| Purple | More than 1.00 inch | 10 years |
| Casper | More than 1 inch. Must sit on a matching foundation or adjustable base | 10 years |
| Saatva | More than 1.5 inches | Friends for Life, original purchaser only |
| IKEA | Not stated on its category page | 10-year limited |
Mattress Nerd says 1.5 inches is the threshold for most manufacturers.
Then the clauses that can void it:
- Saatva voids coverage if queen and larger frames lack vertical center support or five to six legs.
- Purple requires a firm, solid-surface, non-spring foundation or an adjustable base. It also needs the tag intact to process a claim.
- Tempur-Pedic says the purchaser must continuously use the mattress cover. The buyer pays an inspection fee up front, reimbursed if covered.
- Stains void most warranties. Mattress Nerd says that's true even if the stain didn't cause the sag.
And the costs when it does pay:
- Saatva charges $149 to repair after year 2.
- Its Fairness Replacement Option costs 50 percent of the price in years 3 to 5, 60 percent in years 6 to 10, and 80 percent in years 11 to 15, plus $99. Once per customer.
The warranty also stays with you. Purple's is for the original purchaser only and void if the mattress is resold or donated. Saatva's and Tempur-Pedic's don't transfer either.
So treat resale value as near zero.
A waterproof protector is cheaper insurance than a plan. But Purple's protector warranty applies only to mattresses under 13 inches deep.
Box Springs and Adjustable Bases
A foundation mistake can void a warranty without anyone telling you.
- Sleep Foundation says foam, and many latex and hybrid mattresses, aren't meant for box springs.
- Adjustable beds are incompatible with box springs.
- Saatva's 14.5-inch Classic, Youth and Bunk models void the warranty on an adjustable base.
- Saatva's page says slats should be less than 4 inches apart.
We couldn't open Tempur-Pedic's help page, so we can't confirm its slat rules. A search excerpt suggested slats at least 3 inches wide and under 4 inches apart. Check before you rely on it.
So ask one question before you buy a base. Does this exact mattress model work on it?
The Federal Fire Standard and the Cheap Marketplace Bed
Every U.S. mattress has to meet a federal fire standard.
Under 16 CFR 1633, the peak heat release can't exceed 200 kilowatts, and the total can't exceed 15 megajoules in the first 10 minutes.
Cheap marketplace beds have been recalled for failing it:
| Recall | Units | Price | What happened |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kesyup (Sep 24, 2026) | 48,405 | $100 to $200 on Amazon | Refund requires writing Recalled on the bed and emailing a photo of the destroyed mattress |
| Crayan (Jun 18, 2025) | About 100,000 | $100 to $220, Amazon only | Stop using it and dispose of it. No refund stated. CPSC said the firm has been uncooperative in the implementation of the recall |
| Nap Queen Victoria Hybrid (Jun 13, 2024) | 117,200 | $160 to $375, sold at Amazon, Walmart, Home Depot, Wayfair and Target | Free compliant cover |
| Amazon Basics Premium Foam Eurotop (Jul 31, 2025) | About 2,700 | Not stated | Refund as Amazon credit |
| GhostBed Natural (Apr 11, 2024) | About 1,250 | $1,200 to $2,500 | Failed the smoldering-ignition requirement |
The last row matters. GhostBed's price wasn't cheap. It was labeled made in the United States too.
So a price tag isn't a shield.
Also watch the brand names. CPSC notices have named several brands in one recall, such as EVLWZL and Gunugu, and Avenco and Novilla, from one maker. One factory. Many names.
Before you buy a bed from a brand you've never heard of, do two things. Look for the sewn-in label and the prototype ID. And search the brand on CPSC's recall list.
Two other documented problems:
- Fiberglass. Glass fiber is used as a fire barrier. It becomes a problem when a cover is torn or removed. A $9 million Ashley and Resident Home settlement pays claimants vouchers, not cash. It lists the Ashley, Nectar, DreamCloud and Siena brands. Sleep Foundation says a queen at about $600 or less is a fiberglass flag. Read the label for glass fiber or glass wool, and never unzip an inner cover.
- Mold. In 2023, FXI recalled about 48,000 Novaform ComfortGrande and DreamAway mattresses sold at Costco, after 541 mold reports. The remedy was a refund or free replacement.
CertiPUR-US Is About the Foam. Not the Whole Bed.
Certification logos sound like a safety guarantee. They aren't.
- CertiPUR-US covers criteria for the foam, including VOC emissions under 0.5 parts per million. It doesn't speak to durability or fire performance.
- OEKO-TEX Standard 100 labels textiles for harmful substances, and a certificate lasts one year.
Verify the certificate number on the certifier's own site.
Sleep Foundation says VOCs are unavoidable in polyurethane foam, and that odors usually fade within hours to days.
A made-in-USA label isn't a safety claim either. The FTC's standard is that a product is all or virtually all made in the U.S. GhostBed's recalled bed carried that label.
Firmness, Foam Density and Cooling Claims
A lot of mattress copy is numbers that don't mean the same thing twice.
| Term | What to know |
|---|---|
| Firmness 6 out of 10 | There's no universally accepted scale. Sleep Foundation's guide maps 6 to medium firm and 7 to 8 to firm. Sleepers over 230 pounds may want 6 to 9 or 10 |
| Memory foam density | Under 3 pounds per cubic foot is low. Over 5 is high |
| Polyfoam density | Under 1.5 is low. Over 1.7 is high |
| Thickness | Not a quality measure. Sleep Foundation lists 10 to 14.5 inches across top picks |
| Cooling, gel, copper | Sleep Foundation says gel is likely not a feature you need. Hybrids and pocketed coils tested coolest, but it published no temperature readings. Mattress Nerd's thermal-gun tests found 5 to 9 degree rises on three beds, and one needed a $199 cooling cover |
| Hybrid | Coils help airflow. Motion isolation is better than innerspring and worse than all-foam |
If a seller won't state the foam density, that's a worry.
And the 100 nights includes break-in. Plan on the first few weeks feeling different.
Showroom, Online, Floor Model or Used
Where you buy changes what you can return.
- Showroom: You can test it. Sleep Foundation says store return rules are typically more limited than online trials. Brick-and-mortar stores often charge restocking fees.
- Online: Many 100 to 365 nights, but with fees of $99 to $250 and break-in minimums.
- Floor model or closeout: The lowest price, but often no trial. Tempur-Pedic says closeout mattresses can't be returned or exchanged and don't qualify for its 90-night trial. Casper's clearance warranty is 5 years against 10. A third-party guide says Mattress Firm excludes clearance, outlet, floor and pre-owned items from its trial.
- Used: Warranties don't transfer. In 2000 the FTC settled with two Brooklyn resellers that called old mattresses rebuilt with new materials. Refunds were near $50,000.
- Marketplace: The recalls above cluster here.
One more thing. A trial doesn't help if you can't prove what you bought. Keep the receipt, the order page and the policy as it read that day.
The FTC says return rights are set by each manufacturer or retailer, not by federal law. Its cooling-off rule covers only sales at homes, workplaces and temporary locations. If you pay by card and have a dispute, one legal guide says to file within 60 days of the statement under the Fair Credit Billing Act.
Who Pays the Reviewers
Mattress reviews are one of the most affiliate-driven corners of the internet.
Mattress Nerd says it earns commissions from mattress companies and receives free products. Sleep Foundation says it earns commissions on some purchases, and its footer credits Sleep Doctor Holdings.
That's disclosed, and it's lawful.
So is ours. This guide may contain affiliate links. See our affiliate disclosure.
The point isn't that those sites are wrong. It's that you should know who gets paid when you click.
The FTC's reviews rule has been in effect since October 21, 2024. It bans fake reviews, paid reviews tied to a sentiment, company-controlled sites that claim independence and review suppression. Law firms put civil penalties for knowing violations at up to $53,088 per violation. We found no mattress-specific enforcement.
When to Buy a Mattress
- Black Friday: November 27, 2026. Cyber Monday is November 30. That's calendar math.
- Fall sales are already running. On October 8, Mattress Nerd listed Casper's September Savings, Helix's Fall Savings Event and Nectar's Fall Into Savings, up to 50 percent off.
- Holiday headlines: 20 to 50 percent off, with some at 60. Those are seller claims against list prices, which the settlements above challenge.
- Prices at the register: The September 2026 consumer price index shows bedroom furniture down 3.7 percent from a year earlier. Furniture and bedding is down 2.4 percent. All items are up 3.7 percent.
- Producer prices rose: The bedding index was 254.737 in September, up from 244.148 in May.
Tariffs touch furniture more than mattresses. The Section 232 duty on upholstered furniture is 25 percent, scheduled to rise to 30 percent on January 1, 2027. It covers upholstered wooden seating, not mattresses. We couldn't verify whether the new Section 301 tariffs reach each mattress import line.
The worst time to buy is when a banner says ends today every day. The best is when you've photographed the pre-sale price and you know the return terms.
Who Should Buy Now, Wait, or Walk Away
Six rules. Each one comes from the numbers above.
-
Buy now if yours is past 7 to 10 years and failing
Foam and innerspring often fail earlier, at 5.5 to 7 years. If you sleep better somewhere else, that's the test.
-
Wait for Black Friday on November 27 if you can
Discounts of 20 to 50 percent are common. Only buy from a seller where you photographed the pre-sale price.
-
Walk away from any seller that won't state four things in writing
The trial nights, the return fee, the sag threshold and the foundation requirement.
-
Walk away from an Amazon-only brand near $100 to $200
Unless the fire-standard label and recall status check out, and the maker is named.
-
Wait on an adjustable base until you know it's compatible
A queen base runs $600 to $3,000, and the wrong pairing can void the warranty.
-
Buy a full-trial bed over a deep-discount clearance one
If a failed first choice would cost you more than the savings. Run the calculator above.
How We Checked It
We read Sleep Foundation's guides, the sellers' own policy pages, the CPSC recall notices, the FTC's rules and the federal price data. We checked them on October 19, 2026.
Sleep Foundation and Mattress Nerd are affiliate-supported, as above. We used them for lifespan estimates, price ranges and policy summaries, and the sellers' own pages wherever we could.
The pages we used:
- Sleep Foundation on mattress cost
- Sleep Foundation on mattress lifespan
- Sleep Foundation on trial periods
- Sleep Foundation on warranties
- Purple's returns page and warranty
- Tempur-Pedic's return policy
- Saatva's warranty
- IKEA's mattress returns
- The FTC's pricing guide, 16 CFR 233.1
- The FTC's reviews rule Q&A
- The federal mattress fire standard, 16 CFR 1633
- The Bureau of Labor Statistics' September CPI table
What we couldn't confirm:
- Peer-reviewed research on firmness and back pain. We couldn't read it.
- Tempur-Pedic's help-center details on slats and the sag test
- Sleep Number's full trial text
- Recycling fee amounts by state
- Mattress Firm's actual return fee
- Whether the Ashley fiberglass settlement was approved at its September 24, 2026 hearing
This guide is one of 25 in our series on what people research before they buy.